Genesis Chapter 48 (Review)

  1. And it came to pass after these things, that one told Joseph, Behold, thy father is sick: and he took with him his two sons, Manasseh and Ephraim.

Not so long after, it was told unto Joseph that Israel is sick. And so Joseph took his two sons

  1. And one told Jacob, and said, Behold, thy son Joseph cometh unto thee: and Israel strengthened himself, and sat upon the bed.

And someone told Israel that Joseph is coming. And then he strengthened himself and sat on his bed.

  1. And Jacob said unto Joseph, God Almighty appeared unto me at Luz in the land of Canaan, and blessed me,

And Israel said unto Joseph when he got close to him. God almighty appeared unto me at Luz (now bethel) and he blessed me.

  1. and said unto me, Behold, I will make thee fruitful, and multiply thee, and I will make of thee a multitude of people; and will give this land to thy seed after thee for an everlasting possession.

And he told me the Abrahamic covenant.

  1. And now thy two sons, Ephraim and Manasseh, which were born unto thee in the land of Egypt, before I came unto thee into Egypt, are mine; as Reuben and Simeon, they shall be mine.

And now, your two sons before you, Manasseh and Ephraim which you had before I came into Egypt are mine. Just like Reuben and Simeon. They are my first two children from now.

  1. And thy issue, which thou begettest after them, shall be thine, and shall be called after the name of their brethren in their inheritance.

Any other child you have after these two, he is yours. But these two are now my children. And they shall be called after the names of their brothers in inheritance.

  1. And as for me, when I came from Padan, Rachel died by me in the land of Canaan in the way, when yet there was but a little way to come unto Ephrath: and I buried her there in the way of Ephrath; the same is Bethlehem.

Rachel your mother died by me in the land of Canaan on the way to Ephrath. She didn’t make it to Ephrath but I buried here there in Bethlehem.

  1. And Israel beheld Joseph’s sons, and said, Who are these?

And Israel looked at Joseph’s sons and asked…who are these?

  1. And Joseph said unto his father, They are my sons, whom God hath given me in this place. And he said, Bring them, I pray thee, unto me, and I will bless them.

And Joseph said…these are the sons God gave unto me, here in Egypt. And Israel said, bring them please, let me bless them.

  1. Now the eyes of Israel were dim for age, so that he could not see. And he brought them near unto him; and he kissed them, and embraced them.

And Israel’s eyes were dim (just like that of Isaac) that’s why he asked who they were. And they came closer, and Israel kissed them and hugged them.

  1. And Israel said unto Joseph, I had not thought to see thy face: and, lo, God hath showed me also thy seed.

And Israel said. I never thought I would see your face, but God has made me see even your children.

  1. And Joseph brought them out from between his knees, and he bowed himself with his face to the earth.

And Joseph brought them forward and bowed before Israel.

  1. And Joseph took them both, Ephraim in his right hand toward Israel’s left hand, and Manasseh in his left hand toward Israel’s right hand, and brought them near unto him.

And Joseph held their hands as he was facing Israel his father. He held Ephraim in his right hand (facing Israel’s left hand) and Manasseh in his left hand (facing Israel’s right hand)

  1. And Israel stretched out his right hand, and laid it upon Ephraim’s head, who was the younger, and his left hand upon Manasseh’s head, guiding his hands wittingly; for Manasseh was the firstborn.

Even at that, Israel stretched for path his hands and crossed them, thereby placing his right hand on Ephraim’s head and his left hand on Manasseh’s head.

48

  1. And he blessed Joseph, and said, God, before whom my fathers Abraham and Isaac did walk, the God which fed me all my life long unto this day,
  2. the angel which redeemed me from all evil, bless the lads; and let my name be named on them, and the name of my fathers Abraham and Isaac; and let them grow into a multitude in the midst of the earth.

And he began to bless Joseph. The blessings were as thus: the God that my father’s Abraham and Isaac walked before, THIS SAME GOD THAT FED ME ALL THE DAYS OF MY LIFE / THE GOD WHO HAS BEEN MY SHEPHERD TILL DATE even unto this very day, the Angel that redeemed me from evil, of whom the lads will be blessed, let my name be named upon them as well as the name of my father’s Abraham and Isaac. Let them increase upon the earth.

  1. And when Joseph saw that his father laid his right hand upon the head of Ephraim, it displeased him: and he held up his father’s hand, to remove it from Ephraim’s head unto Manasseh’s head.

And when Joseph saw the way Isaac placed his hands on their head, he was unhappy
And he wanted to remove it and change the position.

  1. And Joseph said unto his father, Not so, my father: for this is the firstborn; put thy right hand upon his head.

And he told Israel, no no, the arrangement is wrong. This is the first born.

  1. And his father refused, and said, I know it, my son, I know it: he also shall become a people, and he also shall be great: but truly his younger brother shall be greater than he, and his seed shall become a multitude of nations.

And Israel said…I know. He-the first born shall become a great people as well but his younger brother shall be greater than he is and the seed of the younger brother shall become a multitude of nations. Ephraim became the carrier of the Abrahamic covenant. Just as God said Esau would serve Jacob.

  1. And he blessed them that day, saying, In thee shall Israel bless, saying, God make thee as Ephraim and as Manasseh: and he set Ephraim before Manasseh.

And he blessed them that day by saying ‘you are blessed of Israel’ and he set Ephraim before Manasseh and said…no longer is it Manasseh and Ephraim but Ephraim and Manasseh.

  1. And Israel said unto Joseph, Behold, I die; but God shall be with you, and bring you again unto the land of your fathers.

And he told joseph, God will bless you and once again bring you unto the land of your fathers.

  1. Moreover I have given to thee one portion above thy brethren, which I took out of the hand of the Amorite with my sword and with my bow.

Also, I have given unto you a portion of land. A portion more than I gave your brothers. It was a portion of land I took from the Amorites with my bow and arrow (by force/with war).

Leave a Reply

